So many carrots cried in the making of this photo. Also, the strawberries are in therapy.

IS THIS NOT ONE OF THE UGLIEST FOOD PHOTOS YOU’VE EVER SEEN? And, sadly, this was something like the 3rd or 4th try. This is an upgrade from where I started. Orange food is not in my color wheel. If I were in high school and my photography instructor said, “Morgan, go take a picture of an orange soup,” I would cry so many tears. Alas, I am graduated. So the only ones crying were the strawberries and the carrots whose reputations were maligned in the making of this sad little photo.

But the two finickiest eaters on the face of this earth, that would be me and Toodle, ate it. We even went back for seconds. K-Hubs and Twinkle also went back for seconds, and Twinkle just ended up carrying it around in a thermos because soup is not easy for a two-year-old. “Uh-oh!!! Wha happin?” You just spilled soup everywhere. But, you’re two and you’re cute, so that makes it okay.

K-Hubs was secretly unsure of this combination. But he said later that it was quite delicious. Then there was a battle for leftovers. Twinkle won.

This soup is like the ugly duckling. It doesn’t start out looking all that great. Actually, it never looks great. But it tastes wonderful. I guess that means it isn’t like the ugly duckling after all. But it does have a good personality. So give it a try.

Ingredients

  • 4-5 cups strawberries
  • 2 cups chopped carrots, steamed
  • 2 cups water
  • 2-4 tbsp coconut oil (optional)

Directions

  1. If using fresh strawberries, wash and slice. If using frozen, thaw to room temperature. I typically use frozen because we buy in bulk. With the frozen strawberries, I fill my measuring cup to about 7-8 cups. As the strawberries thaw, they shrink down to about 5 cups.
  2. Steam sliced carrots until soft.
  3. Add two cups water to a high speed blender.
  4. Add strawberries and carrots. Blend until smooth.
  5. Transfer to deep saucepan.
  6. Add coconut oil, if using.
  7. Heat until desired temperature.
  8. Serve warm. (We have also eaten this cold, more like a smoothie.)

This is a nice starchy soup, which makes it filling and perfect for those times when you are out of all the things. It is also great for long car rides. Or long days at work. Or long days at school. I use this recipe as a base and then add in whatever strikes my fancy. I rely on the coconut oil as a fat source to keep everyone in our family full. It works like a charm.

Also, I went back for another photo shoot with morning light. Not nearly as terrible as the previous 3-4 photo shoots. But not totally what I was going for.

Strawberry Carrot Soup 2015

Photographers may be in tears, but at least the spoons are still smiling.

And always with the add-ons. I cannot even with the add ons. They make this soup versatile.

*Cream – whipped, half & half, whole, from a can, does it really matter? Cream. Just add it. (I have not added these so I cannot attest to their awesomeness. But I suspect they make the soup, especially if you want to make a dessert soup. Dessert soup. Yum.)
*Cinnamon and sugar
*Stevia
*Almond or rice milk

These are typically “ors” rather than “ands,” as in, probably don’t dump all of these into one soup. Cream OR cinnamon. Maybe. Because now I think that sounds good. To be fair, I have seen some recipes call for chicken broth and cream. Or sweet cream and then a bunch of savory spices like thyme, parsley, cilantro, salt, and pepper. Hey, it’s your party. Host it how you like.

As for those other ugly photos, I want you to feel good about your Monday. Like, your Monday isn’t as bad as these photos are. Maybe.

So here they are.

Grab your goggles and prepare for awfulness. It’s like the 1970s got sick in my kitchen. Food photographers all over the world are losing their will to live. And seriously about the goggles. Grab them. Your eyes won’t ever be the same.

No goggles close by?

Grab your sunglasses.

Because orange food. There are no words.

 

It's Like the 1970s came to my kitchen and got sick So Hideous Still Pretty Bad

